Skip to content
July 12, 2010 / gracelesswonder

Between a Buckle and a Hard Place…

Sorry, that title is so dumb, it made me laugh. This post only partially food related, but I’m stressed and feeling the need to vent.

I’ve been having major issues at work. In a nutshell, my boss is an arrogant jerk and I’m sick of him taking credit and cutting me out of all the important crap.

So today I had an interview for a management job. I’ve been here for 9 years, it’s really time for me to move up. Not to mention, the extra money would be a huge help right now!  I was pretty much ok going into it, and I feel like the interview went really well. Now that I feel like I have a real shot at this, I’m a wreck. 

I should find out later next week (or more likely the week after) about the position. Guess I better get used to this nervous twitch!

On a side note, I went to the farmers market again this week. Again, it was absolutely packed. I didn’t venture too far out of my comfort zone yet again. I got some blackberries, a watermelon, and some more tomatoes.

Wondering what I can make w/ the blackberries (assuming I don’t eat them all first) and the few blueberries I have left.  My original plan had been Blueberry-Peach Crisp II, but now I’m thinking maybe a Black and Blue Berry Buckle.

Is it just me, or is that not an odd name? Buckle…. it’s so 50’s ish sounding. Like, June would have a Blueberry Buckle waiting on the table when the Beav got home from school.  If I make a Buckle, does an apron automatically arrive in the mail a few days later?

Anyway, I digress. So a Buckle is apparently like a coffee cake, with a streusel topping.  I’m not a huge coffee cake fan, but it seems pretty easy. The pics I saw on Thursday Night Smackdown look amazing, so maybe this will convert me.

Guess I can give it a shot, right?

Leave a Reply

